Four students at the design competition at NC State

Design Competition at NC State

In October, twelve teams competed in the 2022 NCMCA Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Masonry Design Competition at NC State University. Teams designed a hypothetical in-fill building section as a graded assignment for Professor Dana Gulling’s “Architectural Construction Systems” class. Pictured, winning team members Callie Leloudis and Emma DeMagistris standing, and Wayne Evans and Christian Gonzalez. NCMCA Eastern Regional Vice President Doug Burton and Executive Vice President Ryan Shaver served as competition judges. The winning project earned a semester’s in-state tuition divided among the team members. Runner-up teams received a selection of quality masonry tools. 2022 marks the 22nd year for the competition at NCSU and the 11th at Appalachian State University. The scholarship is primarily funded by the annual NCMCA fall golf tournament and is named in memory of brothers David and Dwayne Sigmon and Dwayne’s son Randy. Photo by Doug Burton