McGeeContestWinners2018WEBNEWSThe 2018 Samuel A. McGee Memorial Apprentice Masonry Skills Contest is in the books! Jamison “JK” Huntley of Huntley Brothers Company successfully defended his 2017 championship title by repeating in 2018 and once again taking home “The David R. Sigmon Award” for top-score. Jamison is only the second two-time winner in the history of the contest. (Wriston McGee, McGee Brothers Company, won the contest in both 2011 and 2012.) Pictured, bottom left to right, Jesse Baker, fifth place, Gates Construction Company; Zack McGee, fourth place, McGee Brothers Company; Jace Huntley, eighth place, Huntley Brothers Company; and Reed Ollis, ninth place, McGee Brothers Company.  Top row, left to right, NCMCA President and Contest Head Judge Kent Huntley (who won the contest himself back in 1986); Aaron Dutton, tenth place, McGee Brothers Company; Rex Huntley, third place, Huntley Brothers Company; winner Jamison Huntley; Conor Hallman, second place, McGee Brothers Company; Shad Little, seventh place, McGee Brothers Company; Herron McGee, sixth place, McGee Brothers Company; and Danks Burton, NCMCA President-Elect and 2018 Contest Chairman. Photo by Carl Moser.  Click here for additional contest pictures


NCMCA members participated in the May Masonry Industry Legislative Conference in Washington, DC. During the event, the Mason Contractors Association of America (MCAA) presented its “Freedom and Prosperity” award to North Carolina Fifth District Congresswoman Virginia Foxx. Congresswoman Foxx currently serves as the Chairwoman of the House Committee on Education and the Workforce. The MCAA created the award to provide specific recognition to members of Congress that embrace the spirit of the award and lead the legislature in championing MCAA priorities. Left to right, NCMCA Chairman Bob Gates; MCAA President Jeff Buczkiewicz; NCMCA Past President and MCAA Regional Vice President Gary Joyner; Imani Surratt; and Past National Concrete Masonry Association Chairman Charles Newsome. Photograph courtesy of MCAA.


The Seventh Annual Caldwell County Masonry Contest for masonry students at West Caldwell High School, South Caldwell High School, and Hibriten High School was held at Hibriten Supply on May 10th. Competition events included Fastest Brick Layer, Fastest Tending Team, Fastest Block Layer, best beginning masonry project, and best advanced project. Pictured top row, left to right: Jessie Fox, Head Judge and former South Caldwell masonry teacher and retired masonry contractor; Eric Stamey, Hibriten High School masonry instructor; Aaron Jones, Hibriten High School, First Place Finish Advanced Division; Matt Woods, West Caldwell High School masonry instructor; and Cody Byrd, representing the Caldwell Home Builders Association who served as MC for the event. Bottom left to right: Cory Huneycutt, Gates Construction Company; TJ Helton, Hibriten High School, Second Place Finish, Advanced Division; and Joe Spivey, West Caldwell High School, Third Place Finish, Advanced Division. Hibriten High School won the award for Best Overall Performance for the day’s events.


Hardy2018WinnersWEBNEWSThe 37th Annual H. A. “Butch” Hardy Memorial High School took place in early May at the Adams/Oldcastle facility in Goldsboro. The 2018 contest included a new “Lineburner” competition with a $2,500 prize for the contestant who properly laid the most brick in twenty minutes. The NCMCA Eastern Carolina and Raleigh Chapters joined in sponsoring the event and arranged the Lineburner competition, sponsorships and vendor displays. Pictured are the Hardy competition winners: bottom left to right, third place finisher Jennifer Key of Columbus Career & College Academy; fourth place finisher Wade Kight, Swansboro High; and fifth place finisher Jacob Jones, Swansboro High. Top row, left to right, Brett Hardy of Adams/Oldcastle; second place finisher Barry Parton of Pender High; NCMCA Chairman Bob Gates; first place women’s division and second overall highest score, Maria Torres, Columbus Career & College Academy; Cheryl Gaw of Adams/Oldcastle; and first place men’s division winner and top overall scorer, Will Light of Southwest Randolph High School. Maria Torres also won the Lineburner contest. Swansboro High School won the Team Award for best-combined performance and Cameron Gresh of White Oak High School won the Masonry One division competition.



 Mason Contractors Association of America (MCAA) Masonry Hall-of-Fame member Robert V. “Buddie” Barnes Jr., retired CEO of Dee Brown, Inc. in Dallas, was the keynote speaker for the Friday General Session at the 2018 NCMCA Annual Convention in April. Mr. Barnes led members on a slide tour of significant projects he participated in during his forty-nine years working for Mr. Brown and the company. NCMCA Past President and MCAA Regional Vice President Gary Joyner introduced Mr. Barnes. Adams, an Oldcastle company, sponsored the Friday morning session.



Left to right, First Place Winners of the 2018 NCMCA/EZ Manufacturing Convention Golf Tournament in Asheville along with the golf committee and the sponsor: Team Member Patrick Jones, Sponsor Damian Lang, Golf Committee Co-Chair Dwayne Bryant, Team Members Bob Gates and Gary Hensley, and Golf Committee Co-Chair Lee Heath. Not pictured, first place team member Todd Cox. Finishing in second was the team of Thomas Johnson, Terry Evans, Matt Cable, and Steve Frazier. The team of Carson Greif, Clinton Greif, Mike Cook, and Jeremy Eudy finished third. The tournament was played on the Omni Grove Park Inn course, which featured live turkeys and a bear.  Bear photo by Carson Greif.



NCMCA Safety Awards for 2017 were presented at the Association Annual Business Meeting in April at the Omni Grove Park Inn in Asheville. Pictured, bottom, left to right, Jason Oliver, Edgar Boettcher Masonry; and Macy Williams, Brodie Contractors. Top, left to right, Mike Radosa, Edgar Boettcher Masonry; Danks Burton, Pinnacle Masonry; Mike Cook, Gates Construction Company; John Cramer, NCMCA Insurance Partner, TriSure Corporation, sponsor of the awards; Calvin Brodie, Brodie Contractors; and Chris Joyner, Joyner Masonry Works. Also winning 2017 awards but not pictured, LPS Enterprises and Seagraves Masonry. 2018 is the fifth year for the awards. Gates Construction Company and LPS Enterprises have each won the award for five straight years.


"The North Carolina Masonry Contractors Association is by and for the professional masonry contractors and masonry industry leaders of the Carolinas.  Members and non-members alike benefit from NCMCA's ongoing advocacy of masonry in all its forms.  We need you!  Be a part of NCMCA!

Attend local chapter meetings.  Join NCMCA to become an active participant in crafting masonry's bright future.  Contact us today for more information."

Contact Information NCMCA
PO Box 3463
Hickory, NC 28603-3463
United States of America