A project named “Modern Monument” is the November winner of the 2021 NCMCA Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Design Competition at Appalachian State University.
NCMCA Chairman Kent Huntley, along with Griffin Masonry’s Chad Davis reviewed and judged the projects, which are a graded assignment of Dr. Chad Everhart’s Architectural Design Studio III / Integrated Design Studio. Huntley and Davis were joined by ASU Professor Jason Miller and architect Phillip Jefferson, Program Director/Associate Professor at Wake Technical Community College to make comments about the projects and to announce the winners.  The winning team of Daniel Kahill, Javier Fuentes and Shea Marlowe will share a semester’s in-state tuition as their prize. Second Place went to the team of Jordan Runnion, Daniel Scruggs, and Camden Seybert. Third place went to Natalie Black, and Jackson Sloane, and fourth place went to Aidan Davis-Mercer, Spencer Fox-Davis, and Emma Havmoeller. Runner-up teams received quality masonry tools as their prizes. 2021 marks the eleventh year for the competition at ASU.