Appalachian State University conducted its design competition for the 2020 NCMCA Sigmon Memorial Scholarship with results announced in early November. Eleven teams of two competed with an infill design of a hypothetical building façade featuring masonry as a graded assignment in Associate Professor D. Jason Miller’s Architectural Design Studio III and Integrated Design Studio. The projects were judged by NCMCA Chairman of the Board Kent Huntley and NCMCA Past President Doug Burton along with architect Phillip Jefferson, Program Director/Associate Professor at Wake Technical Community College. All aspects of the 2020 competition and judging were conducted virtually because of the virus. Finishing in “First Place” was the team of Sandra Anglesjo and Jesse Wilson with their project titled “Funnel Effect” (pictured.) Finishing in second to fourth place respectively were Sam Lee and Lindsay McNeil, followed by Alexis Cabra and Olivia Forish, and Serlina Francisco and Madison Hedrick. The first-place team will share their prize of a semester’s tuition. Runner-up teams will receive masonry tool prizes.

"The North Carolina Masonry Contractors Association is by and for the professional masonry contractors and masonry industry leaders of the Carolinas.  Members and non-members alike benefit from NCMCA's ongoing advocacy of masonry in all its forms.  We need you!  Be a part of NCMCA!

Attend local chapter meetings.  Join NCMCA to become an active participant in crafting masonry's bright future.  Contact us today for more information."

Contact Information NCMCA
PO Box 3463
Hickory, NC 28603-3463
United States of America