In October, NCMCA traveled to Appalachian State University in Boone for the Ninth Annual NCMCA/ASU Sigmon Memorial Scholarship Design Competition. Nine teams of two designed, drew details, modeled and described hypothetical masonry infill building projects as a graded assignment in Associate Professor D. Jason Miller’s “Architectural Design Studio III” class. For the competition and awards, the projects were judged by NCMCA and a design professional. First place and winners of a semester’s scholarship split between them are Delaney Marion and Nolan Markovich. Second Place went to Weston Locke and Matthew Panko followed by Mason Hill and Winter Money; and Davis Marsh and Angel Martinez respectively. Top finishers received professional masonry tools as consolation prizes. Pictured left to right, judges for the competition Chelsea Helms, ASU Assistant Professor of Interior Design; NCMCA President Kent Huntley; winner Delaney Marion; ASU Associate Professor D. Jason Miller, AIA, Program Director of Building Science with daughter Vivian; winner Nolan Markovich; and competition judge Chad Davis of Griffin Masonry.